Shelly F. Greenfield, MD, MPH

Professor of Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School and the Kristine M. Trustey Endowed Chair of Psychiatry, McLean Hospital

Shelly F. Greenfield, MD, MPH is Professor of Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School and the Kristine M. Trustey Endowed Chair of Psychiatry at McLean Hospital where she also serves as the Chief Academic Officer. She is the Chief of the Division of Women's Mental Health and the Director of Clinical and Health Services Research and Education in the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Treatment Program at McLean. Dr. Greenfield is an addiction psychiatrist, clinician and researcher. She has served in the past as McLean’s Associate Clinical Director of the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Treatment Program and director of the outpatient substance use disorder treatment program and consultation services. From 2005-2010, she was the Director of the Harvard Medical School/Partners Addiction Psychiatry Fellowship. Dr. Greenfield has served as Principal Investigator and Co-Investigator on federally funded research focusing on treatment for substance use disorders, gender differences in substance disorders, and health services for substance disorders. She received a National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)-funded career award in substance use disorder patient oriented research (2005-2016). Funded by two grants from NIH/NIDA, she developed and tested a new manual-based group therapy for women with substance use disorders, the Women’s Recovery Group (WRG). The WRG is an evidence-based treatment and the manual for dissemination was published in 2016 in a book, Treating Women with Substance Use Disorders: The Women’s Recovery Group Manual.  She is President of the American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry and current member and past chair of the American Psychiatric Association's Council on Addiction Psychiatry and. She is immediate past Editor-in-Chief of the Harvard Review of Psychiatry (2002-2018). Dr. Greenfield was a member of the Advisory Committee on Services for Women for the U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (2011-2017). She has been elected to the American College of Psychiatrists and the College on Problems of Drug Dependence, and is a Distinguished Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association. She received the R. Brinkley Smithers Distinguished Scientist Award from the American Society of Addiction Medicine and the A. Clifford Barger Award for Excellence in Mentoring from Harvard Medical School.